State Employees Retirement System (SERS)

The State Employees Retirement System is based on a Connecticut state law enacted in 1939. Since 1939, the law has been changed by legislation and collective bargaining. Current plan provisions are in effect until June 30, 2027 in accordance with the 2017 agreement between the State of Connecticut and the State Employees Bargaining Agent Coalition. You should be aware however that these provisions are subject to change in accordance with any subsequent legislative, collective bargaining or court ordered actions. There are currently seven plans – Tier I, Tier II, Tier IIA, Tier III, Tier IV and, for teachers and certain eligible employees in higher education only, the Hybrid Plan and the Alternate Retirement Program.